Spend a day in the unique settlement of Fulneck, built by the Moravians in the mid-18th century. Little has changed in its 250 year history and life still revolves around the church.
The Fulncek Moravian Museum opened in 1969 to house a collection of Moravian memorabilia, including 18th century Moravian lace and embroidery, brassware brought back from Tibet and Eskimo carvings from Labrador.
It is home to two 17th century cottages, a Victorian parlour and kitchen, weaving chamber, Moravian embroidery, folk exhibits, an 1822 hand-pulled fire engine and ethnographical exhibits.
The settlement of Fulneck itself is also home to a small art gallery and craft centre, an independent school, a golf club and a small restaurant 'Zachary's', which was originally a shop and source of income for the community dating from 1771.
Map reference: SE 222320 Lat: 53.78410 Long: -1.66440
By Road: Leave at jct 27 and follow signs for Bradford (A650), straight across roundabout crossing the A58 and continue to a 2nd, take 3rd exit signposted Driglington and Pudsey. After 150yds take the 1st turn left into Tong Lane.
By Public Transport: Take bus to centre of Pudsey (Town Hall). Straight on through traffic lights until you reach T-junction and turn right, 200yds to entrance to settlement (no 73 bus from Town Hall).