Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

Shortlist

Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

image for Children's Activity Event item typeWacky Wednesdays at National Coal Mining Museum for Englandadd to shortlist

  • VistEngland VAQAS
  • White Rose Award Winner

Children's Activity Event, from 9 Oct 2019, free entry

WRA WINNER 2007 VAQAS

Wacky Wednesdays

Wacky Wednesdays

Details

Wednesday mornings during term time we combine storytelling, singing and craft activities - the perfect opportunity to drop in and spend time playing and learning with your under 5s.

Our Wacky Wednesday volunteers provide a lively mix of storytelling, themed activities, singing and craft making.

We can accommodate up to 20 children plus their carer. Book on arrival. First come, first served.

Baby changing facilitiesCoach parties acceptedCredit cards accepted (no fee)Disabled toiletsEducation/study areaFacilities for groupsFacilities for educational visitsGift shopOn-site cateringOn-site light refreshmentsPicnic sitePublic toiletsRegional Tourist Board MemberWheelchairs availableAccepts groupsFacilities for conferencingFacilities for corporate hospitality

Children welcome

NEW Adventure Playground and Mining Lives gallery

Event details

Dates Times
Wed 16 Oct 2019 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 23 Oct 2019 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 6 Nov 2019 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 13 Nov 2019 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 20 Nov 2019 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 27 Nov 2019 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 4 Dec 2019 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 8 Jan 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 15 Jan 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 22 Jan 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 29 Jan 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 5 Feb 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 12 Feb 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 26 Feb 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 4 Mar 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 11 Mar 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 18 Mar 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 25 Mar 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 1 Apr 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 22 Apr 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 29 Apr 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 6 May 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 13 May 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 20 May 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 3 Jun 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 10 Jun 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 17 Jun 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 24 Jun 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 1 Jul 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 8 Jul 2020 10:15 to 11:00
Wed 15 Jul 2020 10:15 to 11:00

Prices

Free entry

Drop in, Free activity, but we welcome donations to cover the cost of materials.
Special events in the school holidays are £5 per ticket and must be booked.

Address

Caphouse Colliery,
New Road,
Overton,
WF4 4RH

Location

Directions

See location of National Coal Mining Museum for England on Google mapsSee location on Google maps

Map reference: SE 252164  Lat: 53.64376 Long: -1.61925

By Road:
Leave the M1 at jct 40 (A638) towards Wakefield, take the 1st right after the traffic lights (Broadway). The Malt Shovel pub will be on your right. At the end of Broadway turn right onto the A642 to Horbury and Huddersfield.

By Public Transport:
Nearest train station: Wakefield Westgate Railway Station
Nearest bus station: Wakefield Bus Station
Bus Route: Yorkshire Traction Bus 232 from Wakefield Bus Station. Drops off outside the Reindeer Inn.

Parking: free

Accessible by Public Transport: 6 miles from Wakefield or Huddersfield station

Facilities

  • Baby changing facilitiesBaby changing facilities
  • Coach parties acceptedCoach parties accepted
  • Credit cards accepted (no fee)Credit cards accepted (no fee)
  • Disabled toiletsDisabled toilets
  • Education/study areaEducation/study area
  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • Facilities for educational visitsFacilities for educational visits
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • On-site cateringOn-site catering
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Picnic sitePicnic site
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Wheelchairs availableWheelchairs available
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Facilities for conferencingFacilities for conferencing
  • Facilities for corporate hospitalityFacilities for corporate hospitality
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome

NEW Adventure Playground and Mining Lives gallery