Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

Shortlist

Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

image for Workshop/Course item typeMiishe African Dance at Yorkshire Danceadd to shortlist

  • Event data supplied by Leeds Inspired

Workshop/Course, from 23 Apr 2019

Miishe African Dance

Miishe African Dance

Details

Miishe African Dance is led by tutor Nii Kwartey Owoo, a professional choreographer and musician. Originally from Ghana, Nii professionally trained in West African Music, Dance and Culture and delivers high quality dance teaching rooted in traditional knowledge.

Classes are high tempo and designed to be fun, so that you can experience the positive energy and joy of African music and rhythm. Nii teaches traditional dances from Ghana and across Africa more widely, accompanied by live drumming. Classes also include some contemporary Afrobeat dance.

The classes are mixed ability and no previous experience is required. Each week Nii will teach movements that you can pick up easily, but it is more beneficial to your development if you attend consecutively. Nii can stretch and challenge more experienced dancers with extended or more complex variations and movements.

Nii’s dance classes include some cultural and historical background to the dances and their relevance today in West African society.

Event details

Dates Times
Tue 23 Apr 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 30 Apr 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 7 May 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 14 May 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 21 May 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 28 May 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 4 Jun 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 11 Jun 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 18 Jun 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 25 Jun 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 2 Jul 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 9 Jul 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 16 Jul 2019 18:00 to 19:30
Tue 23 Jul 2019 18:00 to 19:30

Prices

£9 per class / £91 Early Bird Full Term (book before 22 Apr) / £119 Full Term/ £59.50 Half Term. NEW TO MIISHE: Beginners block booking: £24 for 4 classes, 23 Apr – 14 May with the option to book the remaining 10 classes for £67. (Student discount 20%).    

Also at this Venue

Events at this Venue

date event
Tue 23 Apr Miishe African Dance
Fri 26 - Sat 27 Apr Daimón - Luis Garay
Tue 30 Apr Miishe African Dance
Tue 7 May Miishe African Dance
Tue 14 May Miishe African Dance
Tue 21 May Miishe African Dance

Address

3 St Peters Buildings,
St Peters Square,
Leeds,
www.yorkshiredance.com,
LS98AH

Location

Directions

See location of Yorkshire Dance on Google mapsSee location on Google maps

Map reference: SE 308335  Lat: 53.79690 Long: -1.53388