Contact Details:

Leeds Inspired


21st January 2024

Çiğdem Aslan – vocals

Matt Bacon – guitar and kaval

Christina Borgenstierna – percussion

Susi Evans – clarinet

Meg-Rosaleen Hamilton – violin

Paul Moylan – double bass

Živorad Nikolić – accordian and vocals

She’Koyokh has been hailed as “one of the finest and most entertaining British-based exponents of global music” (The Guardian). Based in London, the ensemble has spent over twenty years absorbing the rich folk music traditions of Jewish Eastern Europe, Turkey and the Balkans. A live force to be reckoned with, they’re a wild swirl of clarinet, violin, jazzy guitar licks, accordion, bass and dance-inducing percussion, plus the sweet and passionate voice of Istanbul-born Çigdem Aslan.

“What makes She’Koyokh stand out? It’s that most simple and obvious of things: they’re just all very, very, good musicians.” (fROOTS).