Back to Life

Contact Details:

n/a, n/a

n/a

Leeds Inspired

Back to Life

1st August 2020 - 31st December 2020

Black and white photos of first generation Jamaicans of Leeds transformed in glorious colour.

The Back to Life online gallery will showcase newly colourised black and white photos from the acclaimed Jamaica Society Leeds, 2019 Eulogy Project which commemorated the lives of the pioneering first generation Jamaicans who made the journey from the Caribbean island during the 1940s to 60s.

Launching online from August 1st – exactly a year since the Chapeltown based charity’s much-lauded, record breaking Eulogy Exhibition was launched at Leeds Central Library’s Room 700 - and curated by Susan Pitter, Back to Life will feature rarely seen colourised photos depicting all aspects of life for the newly arrived Jamaicans – everyday images of young couples in love, families, people making a living will be included with equal importance alongside those of trailblazing activists and RAF veterans.

Back to Life has been made possible with funding from Arts Council England’s Covid-19 Emergency Response Fund which is supported by the National Lottery and Government.

Back to Life can be viewed online here www.jamaicasocietyleeds.co.uk

Image caption: Early members of the Caribbean Cricket Club formed by Jamaican WW2 veterans in 1948, in Hyde Park, Leeds en route to a cricket match. Back row (L–R): Vince Stewart, Errol James, Bill Campbell, Warren Lawson. Middle row: Mr Morant (partly hidden), ‘Mac’ McCarthy, Astley Thomas. Front : Unidentified man, Alford Gardner on guitar. Messrs Stewart and Gardner were passengers aboard MV Windrush in 1948 having returned to Jamaica after the war.

View dates & times

Sunday 25th October 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 26th October 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 27th October 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 28th October 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 29th October 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 30th October 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 31st October 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 01st November 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 02nd November 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 03rd November 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 04th November 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 05th November 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 06th November 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 07th November 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 08th November 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 09th November 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 10th November 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 11th November 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 12th November 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 13th November 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 14th November 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 15th November 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 16th November 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 17th November 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 18th November 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 19th November 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 20th November 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 21st November 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 22nd November 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 23rd November 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 24th November 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 25th November 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 26th November 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 27th November 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 28th November 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 29th November 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 30th November 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 01st December 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 02nd December 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 03rd December 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 04th December 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 05th December 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 06th December 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 07th December 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 08th December 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 09th December 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 10th December 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 11th December 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 12th December 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 13th December 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 14th December 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 15th December 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 16th December 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 17th December 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 18th December 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 19th December 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 20th December 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 21st December 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 22nd December 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 23rd December 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 24th December 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 25th December 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 26th December 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 27th December 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 28th December 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 29th December 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 30th December 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 31st December 2020 - 12:00am