Opening Times:

Gallery
Daily 10:00 – 17:00
Wednesday open until 20:00

Bar & Kitchen
Monday to Thursday 07.30 – 20:00
Friday 07.30 - 23:00
Saturday 10:00 –23:00
Sunday 10:00 - 20:00
Kitchen open everyday until 20:00

Price:

Free Entry

Contact Details:

Hunslet Road, Leeds

0113 320 2323
http://www.thetetley.org

Taus Makhacheva: Hold Your Horses

7th February 2020 - 10th May 2020

With Super Taus, Superhero Sighting Society and The Unbound  _"Imagine unclimbed mountains surrounded by voices; accounts of superhero sightings. Imagine the landscape of a tireless traveller, and attempts to move large volumes of rock (real and imaginary) with the help of winds, daydreaming and bare hands. Hold your horses."_ _Hold Your Horses_ speaks to the traditions of history-making and the experience of everyday life. Makhacheva's position isn't nostalgic; instead she creates stories and even superheroes through a playful process of mixing, borrowing and assimilation. Often drawing from daily life in Dagestan and the Caucasus region of Russia, Makhacheva reflects on the day-to-day rituals, celebrations and instances of everyday heroism with a playful and humorous tone. Central to the exhibition will be _Superhero Sighting Society_, 2019 to be installed in The Tetley's atrium. Commissioned by KADIST Foundation, Paris, and supported by narrative projects, London, the work presents a cacophony of voices resonating within a mountain-scape, and recalling sightings of various superheroes. These are not the fantastic superheroes we see in films or comic books, but instead are figures that tackle daily injustices and the loss of small worlds, such as a bookstore disappearing, or a gallery shutting down. The exhibition will also feature _ASMR (Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response) Spa_, 2018, commissioned for Liverpool Biennial 2018. Visitors will be invited to book a 30 minute _Sculptural Signature Facial_ conducted by a performer. Each treatment brings the subject into close proximity with the materiality of artworks through ingredients in the cosmetic products used, and poses the question of what it means to be a restorer, or to be restored. Bookable dates for _ASMR (Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response) Spa.  _Sunday 16 February, 30 minutes, £15:  click here. Wednesday 25 March, 30 minutes, £15:  click here. [https://shop.thetetley.org/collections/tickets/products/mar-facial] The exhibition is presented in partnership with Liverpool Biennial and supported with National Lottery funding through Arts Council England's Strategic Touring fund. With thanks to narrative projects, London.

View dates & times

Thursday 09th April 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 10th April 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 11th April 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 12th April 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 13th April 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 14th April 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 15th April 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 16th April 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 17th April 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 18th April 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 19th April 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 20th April 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 21st April 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 22nd April 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 23rd April 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 24th April 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 25th April 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 26th April 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 27th April 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 28th April 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 29th April 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 30th April 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 01st May 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 02nd May 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 03rd May 2020 - 12:00am

Monday 04th May 2020 - 12:00am

Tuesday 05th May 2020 - 12:00am

Wednesday 06th May 2020 - 12:00am

Thursday 07th May 2020 - 12:00am

Friday 08th May 2020 - 12:00am

Saturday 09th May 2020 - 12:00am

Sunday 10th May 2020 - 12:00am