Contact Details:

3 Quarry Hill, Leeds

0113 222 3400

Opera North Horn Trio

  • Credit cards accepted (with charge)
  • Disabled toilets
  • Education/study area
  • Facilities for conferencing
  • Facilities for corporate hospitality
  • Facilities for educational visits
  • On-site catering
  • On-site light refreshments
8th April 2020 - 8th April 2020

OPERA NORTH HORN TRIO David Greed - violin Alex Hamilton - horn Ian Buckle - piano Timothy Jackson - Continuo Brahms – Horn Trio The regular and familiar duo of Greed and Buckle is joined by Alex Hamilton for a programme of trios written for piano, violin and horn. Alex is Principal Horn in the Orchestra of Opera North. _Continuo_ by Timothy Jackson (Principal Horn of the RLPO) is a short single-movement piece. Timothy describes the work as a ‘collage’, being in turns lyrical and playful. The piece is based on music written by Corelli; the Italian baroque master. Brahms’ four movement Horn Trio was written in 1865, and is considered one of the great ‘chamber music' creations for horn. It commemorated the passing of Brahms’ mother Christiane. Brahms wrote the work for natural horn despite the fact that, at that time, the valve horn was becoming more common. Today the piece is generally played on the valve horn.

View dates & times

Wednesday 08th April 2020 - 01:00pm